About Paper Cranes

“I will write peace on your wings and you will fly all over the world.” ~ Sadako Sasaki

It’s been said that if you make 1000 paper cranes you get a wish. There’s a book in which a dying girl is taught how to make paper cranes and decides to make 1000 of them to get her wish as the legend suggests. She dies part way through though and others finish the cranes for her.

I’ve heard quotes like “Why wish upon a star when you can pray to the one who created it?” And I partially agree with this, but I also think there’s a lot of magic in wishes. There’s power in knowing what you want if you could have anything. Now most of my own wishes I find (11:11, stars, birthday candles, dandelions) don’t come true. Probably simply because it’s in my best interest to not have those things. The things I truly and sincerely pray for, I don’t always get either, but I almost always get an answer when that’s what I’m asking for. However, there’s also this tumblr post that claims if you repost it you’ll get a wish and there’s like a ton of comments saying it really works. It only works the first time but it really does work.

With paper cranes, I think wishes work a little differently. You’ve put work and thought into this wish, you’ve shown consideration and I think that accounts for something.

I’m currently in the process of making 1000 paper cranes. I didn’t know how to make it until I made the first one and by the time I made the second I didn’t need instructions anymore. It’s probably assumed that I am making the cranes to get the wish but in actuality this is not the case. I’m making the cranes so that I have something to do with my hands so that I’m less tempted to self harm. I’ve seen so many different suicide and self harm awareness things (semicolons, black ribbons, colored bracelets, butterflies) but my favorite is my own take on it, the cranes. The cranes are my symbol of hope, of perseverance, of my survival and my fight. I got a necklace yesterday that’s a paper crane. I plan to wear it everyday and when people ask, tell them it’s my hope, my fight. Paper cranes aren’t just origami birds to me anymore, they’re a promise that I will keep trying. Things have been so hard lately and this year but somehow I’m still here and someday, I want to have 10,000 Paper cranes, 0 scars from self harm, and a lot of years of fighting through my struggles. That’s the hope for now and I pray that it’s something I’ll be able to accomplish. I don’t know what I’ll wish for when I get to this first 1000, but I know that this will be worthwhile in the end.

Gotta go, Buffalo!

❤ Annee

Leave a Reply

